Shared workbook in Excel helps to collaborate on a network and save time.
A shared workbook is setup to allow multiple users on a network to view or edit the data at the same time. He can also view the changes made by other users. The first step involved in creating a shared workbook is to save the relevant file in a network location that is accessible to all the users who will work on the data. The next step involves the sharing of the workbook by clicking on ‘Tools’ and the ‘shared workbook’. You can also specify whether you want to track changes and have the authority of accepting the changes. You can also view how many people ar presently working on the workbook. When you save changes to a shared workbook, another person who’s currently editing the workbook might have saved changes to the same cells. In this case, the changes conflict, and a conflict resolution dialog box appears that allows you to decide whose changes to keep.
Because the following features can’t be changed after a workbook is shared: merged cells, conditional formats, data validation, charts, pictures, objects including drawing objects, hyperlinks, scenarios, outlines, subtotals, data tables, PivotTable reports, workbook and worksheet protection, and macros, the author should setup these features carefully before sharing the workbook.
The training video describes all the steps in good practical detail.
Use a shared workbook to collaborate